Media Contacts

If you are a media member with questions, please contact:

Melissa Clark at 918-551-2245

Email Melissa

For all other questions,
please call 800-654-7385.

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma Awards Scholarships at Oklahoma Youth Expo

Mar. 21, 2017

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK– On March 16, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma (BCBSOK) awarded four- $5,000 Health and Wellness scholarships to high school seniors involved in the Oklahoma Youth Expo (OYE) organization.

The recipients of the 2017 scholarships are as follows: Ashtyn Ayers of Muskogee; Crosbi Shelby of Hollis; Kyndall Shrum of Coweta; and Abigail Webster of Deer Creek.

The BCBSOK Health and Wellness scholarship selection is based on academic excellence, community involvement and the desire to attend an Oklahoma Higher Education Institution in pursuit of a medical degree, with the intention of focusing on health in rural Oklahoma.

New this year, in addition to the scholarship, each recipient has the opportunity to participate in a mentor program. The pilot mentor program matches a local physician or nurse to the respective student, based on their pursued degree and interests.

“The Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma Health and Wellness scholarship is a resource for the future of health care in our state. It is important that we do everything we can to provide our youth with opportunities to thrive and give back to their communities. We believe college graduates with health-related degrees are an invaluable asset and we are proud to support them with the professional resources and assistance they need to become successful health care professionals in our state” said Ted Haynes, President of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma.

Congratulations to all four outstanding students. We look forward to watching them progress toward a successful future in health care.

Oklahoma Youth Expo Group photo

Photo cutline: Pictured L-R: Jimmy Harrel, OYE Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors; BCBSOK scholarship recipients Abigail Webster, Kyndall Shrum, Crosbi Shelby, and Ashtyn Ayers; Ted Haynes, BCBSOK Plan President; and Bob Funk, OYE Chairman of the Board and CEO of Express Personnel Services.